top of page
Desk%20with%20Book_edited.jpg

MS. E WARNER

preschool teacher

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureMs. E Warner

How to Stay Sane During Quarantine

COVID-19 has made our way of life a lot different than it was just a few weeks ago. Coping with these changes can be difficult, so I am sharing 10 ways to create normalcy and stay sane during this uncertain time.


Separate Work and Home

In order to truly enjoy the following suggestions, first you need to be able to separate work and home. For me, it's been difficult during this first week of remote teaching to turn my brain "off" from school. This is something I will continue practicing (hello, growth mindset!) to avoid feeling burnt out. To actively practice disconnecting the two, I am working to create a more consistent routine each weekday and creating a separate work space.


Gratitude Journal

Practicing gratitude was one item on my New Year's Resolution. Now that I have more free time, I am able to be more thoughtful and intentional in this practice. I purchased a gratitude journal from Amazon, found here, that helps prepare your positive mindset for the day and to calm your body at night.


Drink Coffee Outside

It's the little things in life that matter most. One little moment I have been appreciating lately are my calm mornings sitting on the porch drinking coffee. Here, our mornings have been in the low 60s, which is perfect shorts and sweatshirt weather. You can hear the birds, enjoy your hot coffee, and practice gratitude in this quiet space.


Video Chat and Phone Calls

While you may be stuck at home for the next while, you'll be missing your friends and loved ones. To fill that emptiness in your heart, pick up your phone and make a call or FaceTime. Just this weekend I made a call to my parents and we played an interactive game on our phones together (anybody else love euchre?). While this is definitely not the same as playing together in person, it sure did put a smile on my face.


Game Night

Quarantining has brought out the competitive side of Michael and I. Whoever you're quarantined with, grab a board game and make a night out of it! If you're low on games or are ready for a new challenge, thankfully Amazon is still delivering. Grab your drink of choice and have fun.


Walk Outside

I think I've been outside more now than I was before the social-distancing began. Since the weather has been cooperating lately, I have been so eager to get outside. Although restaurants are not an option right now, enjoying some fresh air is. Grab your quarantine buddy and your dog, if you're lucky enough to have one, to soak up some sunshine.


Binging TV Shows and Movies

Ask family and friends for some new suggestions on Netflix or Hulu, get in your comfies, find some snacks, and you're set. For me, The Office and Fixer Upper are my go-to's, but with this extra time I think I'm ready to expand my horizons. Let me know what you suggest!


Try New Recipes

With groceries low on stock, it's the perfect opportunity to get creative in the kitchen. If you have ground beef, rice, and some common sauces and spices, you could try this Mongolian Beef recipe that I recently enjoyed.


Try a New Hobby

You may be like me and have a yoga mat collecting dust in the corner of your closet. Or maybe it's the crochet set you got for your birthday. Whatever it is, try it! I'm determined to use my yoga mat more now that local gyms are closed.


Get Organized

If you're like me then organization helps you feel more calm and in control. Organization looks differently for all of us, so if you need a new planner to feel less stressed or need to organize the pantry, now is the perfect time.


Stay sane,

Ms. E Warner

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Home: Instagram

CONTACT

2426 Clairmont Rd NE Atlanta GA 30329

  • instagram
  • twitter

Thanks for submitting!

Home: Contact
bottom of page